

06 June 2018

# **LGA President and Vice-Presidents 2018-19**

## **Purpose of report**

For decision.

## Summary

This paper sets out those Members of the House of Commons, House of Lords and European Parliament that the LGA political groups, working with the Public Affairs and Stakeholder Engagement team, will be inviting to be honorary Vice-Presidents for the 2018-19 parliamentary session. As per our Constitution, each Political Group Office has the flexibility to update the appointments during the year as required.

#### Recommendation

LGA Leadership Board is invited to

- 1. Endorse the nomination of Lord Kerslake as President of the LGA for the further year.
- 2. Note the appointments of Vice Presidents by the four Political Groups.

### **Action**

General Assembly will be invited to elect the President for a further year and to note the appointments of the vice presidents by the Political Groups.

Contact officer: Lee Bruce

Position: Head of Public Affairs and Stakeholder Engagement

Phone no: 020 7664 3097

E-mail: Lee.Bruce@local.gov.uk



06 June 2018

## LGA President and Vice-Presidents 2018-19

### **Background**

- Every year the LGA elects a President and appoints Vice-Presidents to act as our advocates in Westminster and Brussels. Under the Constitution, the President is elected annually by General Assembly for a maximum of eight years in post. The President's role includes presiding of the election of the Chairman, Vice and Deputy Chairs of the Association at General Assembly.
- 2. Vice Presidents are appointed throughout the year by the four LGA political groups and those appointments are reported annually to the LGA General Assembly.
- 3. This paper proposes the nomination of Lord Kerslake for a further year as LGA President and summarises the list of appointments from each Political Group Office who have the flexibility to update the appointments during the year as required.

### **Support to the President and Vice Presidents**

- 4. We work closely with our President and Vice-Presidents who promote the LGA by highlighting local government's priorities in debates, working to secure amendments to legislation, tabling parliamentary questions and motions and by hosting events in Parliament. Their support is vital for protecting and enhancing the reputation of councils and for allowing us to pursue and achieve our objectives. The President and Vice-Presidents are selected because of their background in local government and their commitment to supporting LGA priorities in Westminster and Brussels.
- 5. In order to assist our President and Vice-Presidents, we offer briefing papers and verbal briefings, use of LGA facilities, subscription to LGA bulletins and publications, free attendance to our conferences, and speaking opportunities at LGA events.
- 6. Engagement with the President and Vice-Presidents focuses around our campaigns (actively seeking their support and involvement) and the legislation agreed to be a priority for LGA members by the Leadership Board at the start of each parliamentary session.
- 7. LGA Vice-Presidents receive the following support and benefits from the LGA:
  - 7.1. Tailored briefings to support LGA policy positions and corporate campaigns.
  - 7.2. Support in drafting questions, amendments to legislation and parliamentary motions.
  - 7.3. Complimentary use of LGA facilities including meeting rooms.
  - 7.4. Free attendance for Vice-Presidents and their staff at LGA conferences and events.
  - 7.5. Opportunities to speak at LGA conferences and events.
  - 7.6. Opportunities to write for LGA publications.



06 June 2018

### Association

- 7.7. Complimentary subscription to *First* magazine.
- 7.8. A weekly LGA Parliamentary e-bulletin (when Parliament is sitting).
- 7.9. Opportunity to subscribe to the daily LGA news headlines e-bulletin.
- 7.10. Invitations to LGA events in Parliament, including our annual reception, and regular bespoke Vice-Presidents' events.
- 7.11. Access to LG Inform.

#### **Nomination of President**

8. Subject to the approval of Leadership Board, and following discussions with the Group Leaders, it is proposed that Lord Kerslake is nominated to serve as President of the LGA in the coming political year 2018/19.

### **Appointment of Vice Presidents**

#### Conservative

- 9. The Conservative Vice President appointments are
  - 9.1. Charles Walker MP (Broxbourne)
  - 9.2. Bob Blackman MP (Harrow East)
  - 9.3. Andrew Lewer MP (Northampton South)
  - 9.4. Simon Hoare MP (North Dorset)
  - 9.5. Edward Argar MP (Charnwood)
  - 9.6. Robert Goodwill MP (Scarborough and Whitby)
  - 9.7. Helen Grant MP (Maidstone and the Weald)
  - 9.8. Marcus Jones MP (Nuneaton)
  - 9.9. Julia Lopez MP (Hornchurch and Upminster)
  - 9.10. Maria Caulfield MP (Lewes)
  - 9.11. Tim Loughton MP (East Worthing and Shoreham)
  - 9.12. Jeremy LeFroy MP (Stafford)
  - 9.13. Mark Pawsey MP (Rugby)
  - 9.14. Gillian Keegan MP (Chichester)
  - 9.15. Dr Philip Lee MP (Bracknell)
  - 9.16. Neil O'Brien MP (Harborough)
  - 9.17. Baroness Couttie
  - 9.18. Lord Whitby
  - 9.19. Lord True
  - 9.20. Baroness Eaton
  - 9.21. Baroness Scott of Bybrook
  - 9.22. Baroness McIntosh of Pickering
  - 9.23. Baroness Williams of Trafford
  - 9.24. Robert Matthews MEP (East Midlands)



06 June 2018

#### Labour

- 10. The Labour Vice President appointments are
  - 10.1. Clive Betts MP (Sheffield South East)
  - 10.2. Catherine McKinnell MP (Newcastle upon Tyne North)
  - 10.3. Steve Reed MP (Croydon North)
  - 10.4. Wes Streeting MP (Ilford North)
  - 10.5. Catherine West MP (Hornsey and Wood Green)
  - 10.6. Jim McMahon MP (Oldham West and Royton)
  - 10.7. Jo Platt MP (Leigh)
  - 10.8. Preet Kaur Gill MP (Birmingham, Edgbaston)
  - 10.9. Helen Hayes MP (Dulwich and West Norwood)
  - 10.10. Diana Johnson MP (Kingston upon Hull North)
  - 10.11. Anna Turley MP (Redcar)
  - 10.12. Mike Amesbury MP (Weaver Vale)
  - 10.13. Lord Beecham
  - 10.14. Lord Kennedy of Southwark
  - 10.15. Baroness Smith of Basildon
  - 10.16. Lord Smith of Leigh
  - 10.17. Lord Whitty
  - 10.18. Derek Vaughan MEP (Wales)

#### **Liberal Democrats**

- 11. The Liberal Democrat Vice President appointments are
  - 11.1. Tim Farron MP (Westmorland and Lonsdale)
  - 11.2. Norman Lamb MP (North Norfolk)
  - 11.3. Layla Moran MP (Oxford West and Abingdon)
  - 11.4. Wera Hobhouse MP (Bath)
  - 11.5. Lord Tope
  - 11.6. Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville
  - 11.7. Baroness Janke
  - 11.8. Baroness Maddock
  - 11.9. Baroness Scott of Needham Market
  - 11.10. Lord Shipley
  - 11.11. Baroness Pinnock
  - 11.12. Baroness Thornhill
  - 11.13. Baroness Brinton
  - 11.14. Lord Storey
  - 11.15. Lord Scriven
  - 11.16. Catherine Bearder MEP (South East England)

#### Independents

- 12. The Independent Vice President appointments are
  - 12.1. Lord Best (crossbench)



06 June 2018

#### Association

12.2.	Lord Adebowale (crossbench)
12.3.	Early of Lytton (crossbench)
12.4.	Baroness Howarth of Breckland (crossbench)
12.5.	Baroness Greengross (crossbench)
12.6.	Baroness Grey-Thompson (crossbench)
12.7.	Lord Macpherson of Earl's Court (crossbench)
12.8.	Lord Bichard (crossbench)
12.9.	Baroness Greenfield (crossbench)
12.10.	Baroness Wolf of Dulwich (crossbench)
12.11.	Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green)
12.12.	Bishop of St Albans
12.13.	Lord Wigley (Plaid Cymru)
12.14.	Earl of Listowel (crossbench)
12.15.	Keith Taylor MEP (Green, South East)
12.16.	Patrick O'Flynn MEP (UKIP)
12.17.	Julia Reed MEP (UKIP)

#### **Code of Conduct**

13. The LGA President and Vice-Presidents are required to operate in accordance with the Code of Conduct for Members of the House of Lords, House of Commons, and European Parliament. This is made clear in their initial invitations and subsequent letters of appointment.

# **Financial Implications**

14. The roles of President and Vice Presidents do not attract an allowance from the LGA.